Programme

All times are GMT/UTC. Time zone conversion guide can be accessed here.

Tuesday, May 18

2-4pm: Invited Session 1

2:00 – 2:50: Jennifer Culbertson (University of Edinburgh): From semantic primitives to conceptual structure: Experimental investigations into the role of meaning in grammar

2:50 – 3:40: Emmanuel Chemla (CNRS, LSCP, Ecole Normale Supérieure): TBA

3:40 – 4:00: Discussion period

4-5pm: Break & attended discussion session for asynchronous presentations

5-7pm: Submitted Session 1

REFERENTS

5:00 - 5:25: Claire Bergey, Benjamin C. Morris (University of Chicago) & Daniel Yurovsky (Carnegie Mellon University): Remarking on the atypical: Implications for language learning and modeling

5:25 – 5:50: Bálint Forgács (ELTE), Judit Gervain (Università Padua), Eugenio Parise (Lancaster University), György Gergely (Central European University), Zsuzsanna Üllei Kovács, Lívia Elek & Ildikó Király (ELTE): Is Semantic Processing Grounded in Mentalization?

5:50 – 6:15: Barbu Revencu (Central European University): The Interpretation of External Symbols at the Interface Between Vision and Communication

6:15 – 6:40: Ellen Lau (University of Maryland): From object files to discourse files: neural support for a common referential index system in scene and sentence comprehension

6:40 – 7:00: Discussion period


Wednesday, May 19

2-4pm: Invited Session 2

2:00 – 2:50: Uli Sauerland (Leibniz-Zentrum Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft): A Meaning First Approach to Generative Grammar

2:50 – 3:40: Gary Lupyan (University of Wisconsin-Madison): How words structure our concepts

3:40 – 4:00: Discussion period

4-5pm: Break & attended discussion session for asynchronous presentations

5-7pm: Submitted Session 2

PROPERTIES

5:00 - 5:25: Judy Kim (Yale University) & Marina Bedny (Johns Hopkins University): Why grass is green and not yellow: Intuitions about object colors in signed and congenitally blind adults

5:25 – 5:50: Annika Tjuka (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History): Meanings of body part terms: Cross-linguistic colexifications between body parts and objects

5:50 – 6:15: Joshua Martin (Harvard University): Privativity as a window to lexical-conceptual structure

6:15 – 6:40: Fang Wang, Simon Kirby & Jennifer Culbertson (University of Edinburgh): A bias for cross-category harmony is sensitive to semantic similarity

6:40 – 7:00: Discussion period


Thursday, May 20

2-4pm: Invited Session 3

2:00 – 2:50: Susan Carey (Harvard University): Representation of Logical Relations in Infancy and in Preschool Children’s Language—Continuity or Discontinuity?

2:50 – 3:40: Jean-Rémy Hochmann (CNRS. Institut des Sciences Cognitives Marc Jeannerod, Université Lyon 1): Foundations of meaning in infancy: the case of abstract relations

3:40 – 4:00: Discussion period

4-5pm: Break & attended discussion session for asynchronous presentations

5-7pm: Submitted Session 3

EVENTS

5:00 - 5:25: Yue Ji (Beijing Institute of Technology) & Anna Papafragou (University of Pennsylvania): Children are sensitive to the internal temporal profiles of events

5:25 – 5:50: Denis Tatone (Central European University): Prelinguistic grounding of event structure. The case of giving and taking

5:50 – 6:15: Alon Hafri (Johns Hopkins University), Lilia Gleitman (University of Pennsylvania), Barbara Landau (Johns Hopkins University) &
John Trueswell (University of Pennsylvania): Where word and world meet: Intuitive correspondence between visual and linguistic symmetry

6:15 – 6:40: Lilia Rissman & Gary Lupyan (University of Wisconsin-Madison): Linguistic and nonlinguistic event categories have similar
prototype structure

6:40 – 7:00: Discussion period


Friday, May 21

2-4pm: Invited Session 4

2:00 – 2:50: Asifa Majid (University of York): Culture shapes the expression of meaning in language

2:50 – 3:40: Marina Bedny (Johns Hopkins University): TBA

3:40 – 4:00: Discussion period

4-5pm: Break & attended discussion session for asynchronous presentations

5-7pm: Invited Session 5

5:00 – 5:50: Paul Pietroski (Rutgers University): The Extension Dogma

5:50 – 6:40: Alexis Wellwood (University of Southern California): Composition, comparison, and cognition

6:40 – 7:00: Discussion period


Sessions at a glance

Time by time zone

Tuesday, May 18

Wednesday, May 19

Thursday, May 20

Friday, May 21

7am-9am PDT

9am-11am CDT

10am-12pm EDT

2pm-4pm GMT

3pm-5pm BST

4pm-6pm CEST

Invited session 1:

Jennifer Culbertson
(Edinburgh)

&

Emmanuel Chemla
(LSCP, CNRS)

Invited session 2:

Uli Sauerland
(ZAS)

&

Gary Lupyan
(Wisconsin)

Invited session 3:

Susan Carey
(Harvard)

&

Jean-Rémy Hochmann
(CNRS-ISCMJ, Lyon 1)

Invited session 4:

Asifa Majid
(York)

&

Marina Bedny
(Johns Hopkins)

9am-10am PDT

11am-12pm CDT

10am-11am EDT

4pm-5pm GMT

5pm-6pm BST

6pm-7pm CEST

Break & attended
discussion period for
asynchronous
presentations

Break & attended
discussion period for
asynchronous
presentations

Break & attended
discussion period for
asynchronous
presentations

Break & attended
discussion period for
asynchronous
presentations

10am-12pm PDT

12pm-2pm CDT

1pm-3pm EDT

5pm-7pm GMT

6pm-8pm BST

7pm-9pm CEST

Submitted session 1:

REFERENTS

Claire Bergey

Bálint Forgács

Barbu Revencu

Ellen Lau

Submitted session 2:

PROPERTIES

Judy Kim

Annika Tjuka

Joshua Martin

Fang Wang

Submitted session 3:

EVENTS

Yue Ji

Denis Tatone

Alon Hafri

Lilia Rissman

Invited session 5:

Paul Pietroski
(Rutgers)

&

Alexis Wellwood
(USC)

Handy information

Submission
We invite poster submissions from
all areas of cognitive science.
Read more...
About us
Introducing the DUCOG series, and
CECOG, the organizing association.
Read more...